Ian (Jim) Purtell

President 2016-

Jim's love of orchids began with the love of his life, his wife Min; who has been growing orchids most of her life.

Don't be fooled by Jim's career as a heavy tow truck driver and burly stature, he loves orchids, the flowers they produce and the calming nature of orchid growing.

Jim was raised on a farm in the Riverina, surrounded by crops, cows and sheep, perhaps this 'planted the seed' for his future passion of orchids.

Jim is a committed, hard-working and passionate president. During his tenure, Jim has made significant changes to improve club membership and provides a forward-thinking, knowledgeable, open and successful club and a pleasant orchid growing environment.

"With everyone's help we will endeavour to make this club as good as any other around and improve the knowledge of all on the benefits of growing orchids"

Min Purtell

Vice President/Treasurer


Min has been a member of the Shoalhaven Orchid Society for 4 years now and has learned quite a lot about orchids.  As a child, her parents grew them and Min found their beauty nourished her soul.  Min's favourite orchid is the Cymbidium, but has branched out and now grows many other varieties as well.


Francoise Sikora


Diane Slye

Assistant Secretary

Ross & Michelle Hahn


Ross and Michelle joined the Shoalhaven Orchid Society in September of 2012 after attending a Shoalhaven Orchid Society Show.  Michelle's favourite orchid is the Phalaneopsis but Ross has no favourites, to him they are all beautiful.  To this day Ross still loves learning how to produce the best orchids and keep them bug free.

Mick Bodycott


Ron Findlater


Louise Gannon



Stuart Crowther

Life Member

Colin Marstin

Life Member

Lynne Phelan

Life Member

Alan Stephenson

Life Member

John Webb

Life Member

Allan Taylor

Life Member